Lego Review Speed Champions Porsche 911 GT Finish Line

The Speed Champions Porsche 911 GT Finish Line

What is better than one 911 GT?  Why Two of course

For many the Porsche 911 GT is their dream car.  It combines style, performance, and history into a single unified machine.  Lego Speed Champions has created a set with not one, but two of their best models the 911 GT.  Plus you get a starting and finishing line, a winner’s podium, and a small mechanic’s garage, all built out of Lego.

Lego McLaren Pit Stop 75911 Box
Lego McLaren Pit Stop 75911 Box

In this, my final review of the last set of the complete Lego Speed Champions series (you can see the others by clicking on the link), I’ll be telling you why I love this set.

If you have followed the series so far, you will know that the Ferrari Transporter is my favorite, but this is my 2nd favorite for a bunch of different reasons.

First of all you get 4 minifigures, including a photographer (which is sort of rare), and you also get TWO Porsche 911 GT cars, plus a bunch of other neat stuff.

There is a finish line built with black scaffolding pieces and Technic parts and an automated light system (sort of).  The other main structure is an elevated podium with a small garage space underneath.

Be sure to subscribe to this site or my Lego YouTube page to get all the updates I have, and I post a bunch of them.

 

Be sure to pick up your Lego Speed Champions Porsche 911 GT Finish Line before it is retired using the link at the bottom of this page.

How many pieces are in set 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line?

This set has 551 pieces, and as usual I got about a dozen extra small bits like single studs, cheese blocs extra hubcaps and spare visors.  I collect all these extra pieces then save them for details on my MOCs (My Own “Lego” Creations)

How many instruction books are in set 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line?

Lego Review Speed Champions Porsche 911 GT Finish Line Instruction book
Lego Review Speed Champions Porsche 911 GT Finish Line Instruction book

This set  from the Speed Champion series has three full color instruction books.  First is dedicated to building the white Lego Porsche, the second is for building the orange Porsche, and and although the cars use exactly the same pieces, the build techniques are different.  

The last book documents the garage/winner’s podium build and the finish line build too.

How long does it take to build 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line?

It took me about 2 hours to leisurely build this set.  First I built each of the cars, and then I completed the start/stop line and the winner’s podium.  It was fun to build especially because the instructions for the cars were different, even though they are identical.

How many minifigures are in 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line?

This set comes with four minifigures.  There are two Porsche drivers in fire suits that match their cars wearing helments, there is a female photographer, and there is a guy with a baseball cap who is either a mechanic or a track worker.  Additionally, the set comes with two spare blue baseball caps for the drivers to wear when they are on the podium and they take off their helmets.

Does 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line stop come with any stickers?

There are a TON of stikers in this set.  3 big sheets of them in fact.  Each car has a bunch of stickers, plus there are stickers for flags and finish line checkerboards too.    Of course my regular readers know that I never put on stickers as I want to be able to use the bricks for other builds.  Besides, I think it is cool to have naked LEGO sets.

What is the best piece(s) in 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line?

I love all the little wrenches and tools that come with this set.  By now I must have several dozen complete sets of all the Lego tools, but to me, I can never have enough.  I also like the black scaffolding pieces that are part of the pit-stop itself.

Should I buy 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line?

Some of the sets in the Speed Champions are more collectible, like the McLaren, LaFerrari, and the Lego 918 Porsche.  Of course these sets are very playable, but this set, the 911 Finish Line has more stuff to play with.  More minifigures, more tools, more action stuff.

But it is also collectable, so if you want to save it or play with it you won’t go wrong.

What theme or group is the 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line?

This is one of the 2015 Speed Champion Series.

Does the 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line come with a parts separator?

No, this set does not come with a parts separator.

What was your favorite component or part to build in 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line?

So, like I said before this set is a bunch of fun to play with, and it is equally fun to build.  I think the best part for me to build was the podium as it has a couple of unique building techniques that I don’t encounter very often.

Also the mechanical red, yellow, green lights built with gravity powered Technic rod were interesting, too.  Check out the video I made at the top of the page to see more detail on that element.

Would you buy 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line?

Now that I’ve reviewed all seven sets in the Speed Champions series, I will probably buy as many as I can to save, completely boxed for when the series is retired.  I have a feeling that these are going to become quite valuable.

How experienced a Lego builder do you need to be to build 75912 – LEGO Porsche 911 GT Finish Line?

The age range for this set is 7-14, and there is enough in this set for 3 people to play all at the same time.  Two people can each have a Porsche, and a 3rd person can play with the starting line and the podium and mini garage.

I’ve done all the hard work for you, and found the best place to get the LEGO Speed Champions Porsche 911 GT Finish Line

click here to find the best price on Legos

Leave a Reply

