Lego Review Porsche 918 Spyder

The Lego Porsche 918 Spyder- 75910

Some call this the Widowmaker

Growing up my two best friends had pictures of Porsche cars on their walls.  I was a Ferrari guy, and never understood the appeal of a Porsche, until I got to ride in one, and eventually drive one.  Now, with the release of this Lego Set, I can say that I built one, too.

Lego Review Speed Champions Porsche 918 Spyder

As soon as I heard about the new Lego Speed Champions series I immediately knew I had to have them all.  If you are new to the series, and just learning about them for the first time, let me tell you a little bit about them.

Lego has come out with a bunch of sets that are all racing car inspired.  Some are supercars like this Porsche, or this McLaren, or Ferrari, and others are F1 inspired, like this Pit Stop or this Transporter.

This set is the Porsche 918 Spyder, and Lego has done a rally good job with re-creating this German sports car in Lego form.

This set comes with 151 pieces, including the car and a minifigure.  There are some interesting ways Lego uses the pieces in this build, so if you are a fan of cars, or like to learn new ways of using old pieces, be sure to pick up one of these sets before they are sold out.

Be sure to pick up your Lego Porsche 918 Spyder before it is retired using the link at the bottom of this page.

How many pieces are in set 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder?

This set has 151 pieces, and as usual I got about 4 extra small pieces including an extra helmet visor and some cheese bricks.

How many instruction books are in set 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder?

Lego Review Speed Champions Porsche 918 Spyder instruction book
Lego Review Speed Champions Porsche 918 Spyder instruction book

This is possibly the easiest build of all the Speed Champions series, and only came with a single instruction book.  Most of the cars in this series came with 2 books, and even though this set had one book it wasn’t that thick.

 

How long does it take to build 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder?

It took me about 15 minutes to build this set.  The same as the other cars in this series.

How many minifigures are in 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder?

This set comes with only one minifigure.  It’s a race car driver with green pants, a black helmet with a clear visor and a white torso with green arms.  His head is yellow, and the face is painted on one side only.

Does 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder come with any stickers?

Lego Review Speed Champions Porsche 918 Spyder stickers
Lego Review Speed Champions Porsche 918 Spyder stickers

This set comes with a lot of stickers to decorate the car, but all my regular readers know that I never put on the stickers.  Sometimes the sets look funny without stickers, but I don’t like them on my Lego Bricks.

What is the best piece(s) in 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder?

This set didn’t have any unique pieces, at least as I can tell.  It is the standard Lego grey, so I’m pretty sure I’ve seen all these pieces in either Star Wars sets, or other Lego Space sets throughout the years.

Should I buy 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder?

I am a huge fan of super cars, and love this new Speed Champion set from LEGO.  When I found out about them I immediately ordered the complete series, as I knew that this one probably won’t last long.  It is going to be collected by kids and adults equally.  So if you love cars, or interesting builds, or super cars, then this is a Lego set for you.  I especially think this car will sell out fast as there is such a large group of people that buy Porsche merchandise.

What theme or group is the 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder a part of?

The Lego Porsche Spyder 918 car is one of the 2015 Speed Champion Series

Does the 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder come with a parts separator?

No, this set does not come with a parts separator.

What was your favorite component or part to build in 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder?

This was a fun build and didn’t take that long at all.  For me, I liked how the front end of this car came together.  Although the nose isn’t nearly as sloped as a real Porsche car, the designers did a good job recreating the feel and look of a Porsche Spyder.

Would you buy 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder?

I really like this set, and I might buy a couple more so I can decorate one with stickers, and save a couple for resale in future years.  I have a feeling that once this set is discontinued the price will really jump up as car collectors who have a lot of money will want one if they didn’t get one.

How experienced a Lego builder do you need to be to build 75910 – LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder?

The age range for this set is 7-14, which is just about right – younger builders will love to play with the car once it is built, and older Lego experts will really get into the way the car is put together.

I’ve done all the hard work for you, and found the best place to get the LEGO Porsche 918 Spyder Race Car set number 75910

click here to find the best price on Legos

2 thoughts on “Lego Review Porsche 918 Spyder

    1. Ive had lots of blogs in the past but none really took off. This one is different because I am doing what everybody says to do: “follow your passions”. I love LEGO. I like blogging. It’s a perfect match. Thanks for asking. How did you find out about my site?

      Like

Leave a Reply

