Lego McLaren Speed Champion Minifigure with wrench

Lego McLaren P1

The Lego McLaren P1 – 75909

I can’t afford the real thing so this will have to do

We have all been waiting for these.  I’ve gotten a bunch of tweets  and emails from people asking when am I going to review the new Lego Speed Champions sets, and here they are.  Today I’m reviewing the LEGO set 75909, the McLaren P1

Lego McLaren Speed Champion Minifigure with wrench
Lego McLaren Speed Champion Minifigure with wrench

Lego McLaren Speed Champion BoxI’ll never forget the first time I saw a real McLaren.  It was in Palo Alto California, and I came to a red light and a silver one stopped right next to me.  There was a young guy driving it.  He probably started a Dot Com company or something and was driving this supercar.

When the light turned green, he tried to speed away, but ended up stalling the car.  I always thought that was funny.

You won’t have any problem with this McLaren Stalling though.  It has a 12-stud engine, and never runs out of gas.

This LEGO Set comes with the Car, a minifigure, a black LEGO wrench, two orange LEGO cones, and a small red and white curb strip.  You will have a ton of fun putting the car together and then playing with it in your playroom or if you are like me on your desk or in your LEGO city.

Be sure to pick up your Lego McLaren P1 before it is retired using the link at the bottom of this page.

How many pieces are in set 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1?

This set has 168 pieces, and as usual I got about 6 extra small pieces.

How many instruction books are in set 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1?

LEGO McLaren P1 Instruction Book
LEGO McLaren P1 Instruction Book

The Lego Race Car from the city series has two full color instruction books.  The built is really detailed and it takes 2 books for all the instructions.  One thing I didn’t like is that they are folded in half (as you can see from the photo).  But I guess they had to do that to fit them in the box.

 

How long does it take to build 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1?

It took me about 15 minutes to build this set.

How many minifigures are in 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1?

This set comes with only one minifigure.  It’s a race car driver with white pants, a silver helmet with a clearvisor and a white torso with white arms and some vertical racing stripes on one side.  His head is yellow, and is painted on one side only.

Does 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1 come with any stickers?

This set comes with a lot of stickers to decorate the car, but all my regular readers know that I never put on the stickers.  Sometimes the sets look funny without stickers, but I don’t like them on my Lego Bricks.

What is the best piece(s) in 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1?

The cars in this series come with a new unique wheel system with hubcaps.  There are two different sets of hubcaps you can decorate the wheels with, and then you can use the included wrench to remove them and change them.

Should I buy 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1?

I am a huge fan of super cars, and love this new Speed Champion set from LEGO.  When I found out about them I immediately ordered the complete series, as I knew that this one probably won’t last long.  It is going to be collected by kids and adults equally.  So if you love cars, or interesting builds, or super cars, then this is a Lego set for you

What theme or group is the 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1 a part of?

The Race car is one of the 2015 Speed Champion Series

Does the 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1 come with a parts separator?

No, this set does not come with a parts separator.

What was your favorite component or part to build in 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1?

This set was pretty easy to build.  There are a lot of little pieces which give the car its curved and sloping aerodynamic shape.  One thing that I don’t really like about the cars is the scale to the minifigures.  If you ever see a real McLaren in person, it is much shorter and wider than you would expect.  A person next to the car is taller, and just looks different.

But this was a fun set to make.  One of my favorite parts is the rear spoiler.  The yellow piece could be a jet ski or snowboard in another set, but here it makes the perfect part.  I also like that there are some hidden color bricks underneath the yellow pieces.  You wouldn’t know they are there unless you build the car yourself

Would you buy 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1?

I really like this set, and I might buy a couple more so I can decorate one with stickers, and save a couple for resale in future years.  I have a feeling that once this set is discontinued the price will really jump up as car collectors who have a lot of money will want one if they didn’t get one.

How experienced a Lego builder do you need to be to build 75909 – LEGO McLaren P1?

The age range for this set is 7-14, which is just about right – younger builders will love to play with the car once it is built, and older Lego experts will really get into the way the car is put together.

I’ve done all the hard work for you, and found the best place to get the LEGO McLaren P1 Race Car set number 75909

click here to find the best price on Legos

Leave a Reply

