Lego 60053 City Race Car

Lego Race Car – 60053

The Lego Race Car – 60053

This is the start of something big

It’s pretty interesting the way that Lego ‘tests’ out a new set or series.  I have a feeling that the Lego City Race Car is one of those sets.  It is a great little build, for around ten bucks, and comes with a minifigure with one of the best expressions.  Let me tell you about it.

The Lego Race Car, Racing Minifigure, and Trophy
The Lego Race Car, Racing Minifigure, and Trophy

Lego 60053 Race Car Box
Lego 60053 Race Car Box

If you are like me, you probably get the Creator and the City sets confused.  I know I do all the time.  This Lego Race car is from the City series, and is a fun little build, one of the best I’ve done in a long time and all for less that $10 bucks.

I’ve always loved race cars.  As a boy, I used to go to Laguna Seca racetrack in Central California all the time.  I would see Indy Cars, F1 cars, and my favorites the IMSA GT cars, and the big V-8’s of the 1980’s.  This Lego Racecar really reminds me of one of the IMSA cars that I used to love so much.

The set comes with what you see on the box, there is the race car, a driver, and a championship trophy.  For me all the fun is in building this little car, with all the sloped pieces, lights and  green, white,  and red colored bricks that decorate the model.  There are no doors on this set, but the roof pops off, and the minifigure fits snugly inside the 6-stud wide car.  The black rear spoiler is adjustable, and this set comes with some new black wheels, and low profile tires that I’ve never seen before.

Be sure to pick up your Lego City Race Car before it is retired using the link a the bottom of this page.

How many pieces are in set 60053 – Lego City Race Car?

This set has 100 pieces.

How many instruction books are in set 60053 – Lego City Race Car?

The Lego Race Car from the city series has one full color instruction book.

How long does it take to build 60053 – Lego City Race Car?

It took me about 10 minutes to build this set.

How many minifigures are in 60053 – Lego City Race Car?

The Lego Race Car, Racing Minifigure, and Trophy
The Lego Race Car, Racing Minifigure, and Trophy

This set comes with only one minifigure.  It’s a race car driver with green pants, a red helmet with a visor and a white torso with green arms and an Octan logo. He also appears in set 60025 the Grand Prix truck.  I especially like the little smile or smirk on his face, it’s like he knows a driving trick that will help him win the race without cheating.  Or maybe he did cheat and got away with it – we will never know.

Does 60053 – Lego City Race Car come with any stickers?

This set comes with a sticker sheet to decorate the car, but all my regular readers know that I never put on the stickers.

What is the best piece(s) in 60053 – Lego City Race Car?

There are a lot of cheese (1×1 wedge) clear and yellow pieces that make up the headlights that are pretty cool but for me the new black wheels with the low profile rubber tires are the best part of this set.  I also like the championship cup that comes in this one, but I wish it was gold, and not grey or silver.

Should I buy 60053 – Lego City Race Car?

First of all, you can’t buy this set anymore from the Lego store.  It is only available on the aftermarket now.  I’m torn about this one – on one hand, it is a limited edition set, so if you collect that sort of thing, it is a must have.  Otherwise, it is pretty simple, and not complicated, so for me it is a pass.

What theme or group is the 60053 – Lego City Race Car a part of?

The Race car is one of the 2014 Lego City series.

Does the 60053 – Lego City Race Car come with a parts separator?

No, this set does not come with a parts separator.

What was your favorite component or part to build in 60053 – Lego City Race Car?

This set was super easy to build.  There are a lot of small pieces however that go into making this car.  I really liked how the red, green, and white elements were used to make racing stripes in the body of the car.  There are very few studs showing on the car, as a lot of smooth and sloped pieces are used to make it more aerodynamic.  I think it looks good even without all the stickers.

Another fun part is the back of the car with the rear tail light section, as well as the adjustable spoiler.  You can choose the best position to make it go the fastest.

Would you buy 60053 – Lego City Race Car?

I’ll probably pick up a few more of these race cars when the set becomes discontinued.  I think I could probably build it several different ways, and make a little set of different race cars to use on my lego track.

How experienced a Lego builder do you need to be to build 60053 – Lego City Race Car?

The age range for this set is 5-12, which is just about right – younger builders will love to play with the car once it is built, and older Lego experts will really get into the way the car is put together.

I’ve done all the hard work for you, and found the best place to get the Lego City Race Car set number 60053

click here to find the best price on Legos

Leave a Reply

