The Space Miner, from the Lego Series 12 Minifigure collection

Lego Minifig Series 12 – Space Miner

It took a few extra days, but I was finally able to get my hands on a Space Miner from the new Lego Series 12 Minifigures!

Originally, as soon as I found out about the release of the Series 12 Lego Minifigures, I had to have them all.  I found a display of them at my local Target store, so I bought 20, thinking I would have one of each of the 16 new models.  I only got 11 unique ones, and the rest were duplicates.  I should have gone to Amazon and just ordered more LEGO Minifigures Series 12 – Set # 71007, but instead I waited a few days and went back to buy another batch to open and complete my set.

The Space Miner, from the Lego Series 12 Minifigure collection
The Space Miner, from the Lego Series 12 Minifigure collection

You see, these minifigures come in sealed, unmarked yellow bags.  You don’t know what you are going to get when you buy one.  It is a mystery, and that is what makes these fun to collect.

Some people try to ‘feel’ around the inside of the bag, but I just throw money at the problem, and then save the extras and duplicates.  Sometimes my dog gets ahold of one, and eats it, and that is when I am glad I have extra copies.

The Space Miner is one of my favorite new Series 12 minifigures.  He has some of the highest detail printing on his torso and pants.  You He has a grey chest plate, an orange drill/gun (super rare piece) with a detachable silver drill bit.  Plus he has one of the coolest space helmets I’ve ever seen.

This is how he is described on the Lego.com website:

“Give me a good laser-drill and a spot to plant my magno-boots, and I can dig up anything!”

The Space Miner has worked some of the toughest, dirtiest, and most dangerous jobs that the galaxy has to offer. He’s drilled for high-yield Brickonium energy crystals deep beneath the crust of Planet U, and plumbed the frozen caverns of Krysto-2002 to find the source of a swarm of ice meteorites that were pelting the Earth’s polar regions.

The rough-and-tumble Space Miner likes nothing better than scrambling around on the surface of an isolated planetoid spinning in the depths of space, and no matter how hard the mission, he never complains. He doesn’t take time off, either – after all, what vacation could possibly be more fun than the job he does every day?

Which one of the new Series 12 Lego minifigures is your favorite?  Tell us in the comments below or let me know on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

