Why I started this Lego website

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog about Lego bricks for a long, long time.  I don’t know what exactly made me decide to do it tonight, but here it goes.  I have a lot of experience with starting blogs for my real job, and I hope this one will be a successful as all those others.

This is going to be a site about Lego.  Not Legos.  Lego bricks.  Minifigs, Collecting Lego sets, building Lego sets, and sharing everything I know about them, which is a lot.

How do I know so much about Lego?  I got my first set back in the 1970’s when I was a boy.  I had a massive collection growing up, it was the envy of the neighborhood.  But then I “outgrew” them, or at least I thought I did.

I had a giant red plastic cube, about 2 feet high, that was full of all the old classic sets.  I had the castle sets, train sets from Europe, and tons and tons of original space sets.  But I went to high-school (where it was NOT cool to play with Lego), and then on to college, got married, and began a great job.

It wasn’t until I had a son of my own, that I began to even think about Lego again.  It just wasn’t a part of my life.  But as soon as my boy was born, I was like a little kid again.  I began to re-enter the world of Lego.

Times are so different now.  There are Lego stores, there was a Lego movie, tons of information on the internet, even YouTube channels dedicated to Lego.  People were tweeting about Lego, there are Facebook groups, and a whole new language around Lego.  I became an AFOL (Adult Fan of Lego).

When I was a kid, there was no internet, no computers, no real way to connect with other people around the world who shared my enthusiasm.  I would just get these little paper booklets along with the instruction manuals in the  sets my parents bought for me.  That’s how I learned about new sets.  Often times I had to special order the sets from my local toy shop, and wait for weeks for it to arrive.

Now I can use Amazon 1-click and have a new set the next day.  Wow! (It pays to go to school and get a great job so you have money, kids.)

I’m starting this Lego Blog because I am not 100% happy with the way people share Lego on the Internet.  This won’t be a complete database of  all the bricks in every set.  I am a Lego purist, I like to build sets the way they were designed, and don’t usually take them apart to create new things.  Before, I was only able to buy a single copy of each set, now I can buy 2 or 3 copies, and after I build the set the way the creators imagined, I have a few extra to create additional things.

As I write this, I have a decent small collection of early Harry Potter, and some City Sets.  I love MiniFigs, and wish I had started collecting them sooner.  I only began when Series 11 came out.  Today, Series 12 was released, and that’s one of the reasons I decided to start this site.  To share the different ones I got today with you.

What ever happened to my original Lego collection from the 1970’s and 1980’s?  My Nephews in California got them.  I’m so glad that they get to play with them, and create things on their own.  Someday, I hope they pass them down to their kids.  If I know my brother, he will save them and my nephews will be able to share them, too.  That’s the way it is supposed to work.

Leave a Reply

